Life is simple, Life is ‘art’

This is an art journal page I challenged myself to create, which started yesterday. We have had Jimbo staying with us since last week and there have been fishing trips and quiet times and fun, but very little TIME for art…

If you don't Live enough...

Time for the Three Muses again this week. I sometimes make life hard for myself by starting a spread with elements and words, and no idea how I’m going to tie them together. That sounds ridiculous, but this page was unplanned and I worked towards the theme using a couple of phrases (which I cut up), some Citrasolved scraps of papers (found whilst tidying again), a little text/sheet music leftover from previous projects (postcards and ATCs)…

I was also determined to use a watercolour wash over the background. Colours of choice were blues and then a sandy yellow for the stamped image background… The LOVE and ART squares are from a Crowabout collage sheet I won last year and the letter stickers are from scrapbooking stash I won a couple of years ago! Now either I am an inveterate hoarder, or time really does fly!! I can’t remember when I last bought brand new art supplies – except for the A3 printer we bought recently, for printing art posters and large photos out. 🙂

There are a few handcarved stamps here and I also carved the arrow on the back of one of my erasers – yes, especially to finish off this page and lead the viewer round it!! Now I have scratched that itch, I shall feel less restless tomorrow (I hope!).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Love the colors, love the elements, but I swear I cannot follow the arrows to make sense of the words after the first four. I must be dense–or overcome by your talent! Perhaps a combination of the two? Great work, Rosie!

    Reply
    • Oh dear! I am such a trial Bev, aren’t I? The idea is that if you don’t live enough to have time to love art… STop! Life is simple, Life is art! I think I overdid the arrows!!!

      Reply
  2. taluula

     /  February 23, 2011

    Rosie, this is brilliant and I agree wholeheartedly with what you are saying here. I love your colour palette and the slight grunge effect you have achieved. Well done my friend.

    Reply
  3. Ahhh…..wonderful sighs of awe when I look at the loveliness of the color and texture in this piece! It’s beautiful, Rosie!!

    Reply
  4. I love your art and words together Rosie- you are a master of art journaling. This is beautiful!

    Reply
  5. Another hit! Great color! I love all your stamps. You really do a great job with those!

    Reply
  6. FANTASTIC…love it! So very random and its nice to find someone else who doesnt plan…asked myself this morning whether I should plan a little more. You dont have to…your work is great!

    Reply
  7. Took me a while to work out, too, Rosie, but it is 11pm so I will blame it on tiredness!! But the more ‘TIME’ I spent working it out the more I was in awe of your splendid art, another gem!
    Thanks for showing concern re: the earthquake, gets worse by the day, it will be out biggest disaster, we’ve certainly had a terrible 6 months.= and all in the South Island too.

    Reply
  8. The colourcombo is gorgeous Rosie! I love this whimsical page, which came together in a ‘flow’… those are the best!!!

    Reply
  9. Rosie, this is a fantabulous journal page!

    Reply
  10. Absolutely gorgeous, so much to see.

    Reply
  11. Gorgeous! I love the arrows!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

