Oh Lord, please don’t let me be MISUNDERSTOOD!

Unsurprisingly, I created this spread in the spirit of playful… kind of. I am always amazed that people forget that being an artist (for a woman especially), is never ever all you are, or solely defines who you are. 99% of women artists that I know of, are either mothers or daughters, sisters or aunts, whether working full or part-time, and usually involved with other humans in some way.

This of course means that we have other interests and “constaints”, (or maybe I should say “demands”), on our time and forces which prevail, when really we’d rather be art-ing… For instance, I am a mother and a wife, but I’m also classified as my husband’s main carer and I am expected to accompany him to the Doctor’s or the dentist’s, etc. I am not allowed a full-time job or I lose my carer’s allowance and we couldn’t afford to replace “me” at the rate I actually get from the government, so I do part-time work when I can and also have my Etsy shop.

I don’t mean to sound as though I am moaning, because for the most part, I love my life. I’m lucky that I married my best friend and sextoy, who makes me laugh every day and also happens to be my soulmate. For that I am deeply grateful… However, apart from me, his other passion in life is (and has been for more than 50 years), fishing – coarse, sea and sometimes game fishing. So I fish too. Had no choice really –  when we met he asked me to go with him and his friends (no wheelchair in those days, over 22 years ago!), or risk being a “Fishing Widow” and not seeing much of him during the fishing season.

So, “please don’t let me be misunderstood” – when I go fishing and catch a biggun, I’ll share it! There’ll be a gorgeous carp here or something equally photo-worthy to show you. We don’t kill and eat the fish we catch – it’s simply “sport”… although I am rather partial to the odd trout or salmon. Nick very seldom eats fish, so it’s all mine!!!!

In honour of that, I created this spread for Penny’s fab blog “Songs in My Heart”:

All colour is watercolour paint – greens and a touch of yellow/ochre. The fish are dark paint brushed through an old brass stencil and the figures are from the envelope reminding me to renew my rod licence this year! By the way, I used to play guitar and sing  House of the Rising Sun by The Animals in my Hippie days (I was only 13 years old then…)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Your beautiful use of color never ceases to amaze and delight! I love the silhouettes of the people fishing! XOXO

    Reply
  2. I saw this over at Penny’s – wonderful spread!!! And you played ‘house of the rising sun’ on the guitar? I gave my son a guitar when he turned 13, and the first song he learned was that one… *teehee* – some things never change. And did you know my dad was a fisherman when I was young? (As his job – he co-owned a fisher boat and was away during the week – fishing on the North-sea.) I remember my mom, brother and me going to the harbour when the boat came in, and how proud I was that all the tourists stood on the pier and that I was allowed to get on the boat because he was my DAD… oh, those childhood memories. I might make a journal page with that.

    And again, thank you so much for your present!!! (I just send you an e-mail) You are the sweetest!!! Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
  3. Totally in awe,I love everything about this piece x

    Reply
  4. Wow! This is an awesome journal page, and what a wonderful story about fishing with hubby. You touched me.
    I got happy mail today! Whoo hoo! I’ll be blogging about it soon. 🙂 You’re awesome!

    Reply
    • Awww, so glad it arrived in timely fashion! That’s really good you know – a day after Europe… Cool! 😉

      Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

