Not Broken… Goo Goo Dolls

This spread is for “A Year in the Life of an Art Journal” (AYITLOAAJ, from now on!) I really missed art journalling and the freedom to just paint this week, so when I played the song on Youtube and it resonated with me, I used it for this spread. It’s also featured on Songs in my Heart, where there’s some amazing art, based on songs and lyrics – go see!

We're not broken, please come home...

Technical stuff – I started with a lemon yellow background (I have a whole tube of that to get rid of, or get over…), a little orange, and then a brayer, some white paint and some reddish round blobs – which became the dolls – and the big yellow bright patch in the centre where my home grew.

The dip pen came out and I even messed up the lyrics! So much for having a good memory… 😉

I used Whispers Brush Markers to colour the hair and eyes and my fave Inktense pencils for shadows and discovered that I could blend them with a waterbrush, even when they’d dried. As I was working through this page on a lap-tray, I had to try and limit what came out of my oversized pencil case, so I chose to work mainly with reds and mauves, the 3 Inktense pencils I currently own, a 9B graphite stick and some Hello Kitty tiny heart stickers for beauty spots! (I blame Barbara for my HK addiction!!)

I have yet to see all the interpretations of this theme, and I’m looking forward to that. My take seems quite literal, but home means different things to different people…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. this is great! Your ladies have so much character. I haven’t done my page yet for this prompt…am in another busy patch at work and my poor journal is gathering moth balls …. but I’ll get around to it eventually 🙂

    Reply
  2. LOVE!! Your page is amazing!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Reply
  3. Glenda Tkalac

     /  April 4, 2011

    I love your take on this, those dolls are fabulous!! (not just the Goo Goo Dolls, but the ones you drew too!) haha!

    Reply
  4. Rosie, I’m missing words, your pages are fantastic.

    Reply
  5. Isn’t it fun to just play ? I need this in my life so much ! Love your song play, Rosie !

    Reply
  6. I’m in love with the bright happy colors on this page and your adorable dolls!! Loves, I tell ya!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

