Really? £20 million…

That’s apparently, approximately what the cost of Prince William and Kate Middleton’s Royal Wedding will be. In this day and age, a time of crises and mounting global debt and deficit, that seems not only excessive to me, but rather obscene. So, this is my Journal page for AYITLOAAJ’s April 15th Prompt: Really?
 

How much?

All the stamps are handcarved. The royal crest is from the envelope the 2011 Census docs came in and the flowers are torn from junk mail too – I liked the colours!! My “spring green” girl has been resized and printed out, so she can comment to her (slightly smaller),  alter ego!

I’m neither a fan nor anti the Royals. The Queen finally became a taxpayer like the rest of us, which made her more “palatable” as far as I’m concerned, but the Monarchy in general… Why? Personally, I find them out of touch and well past their sell-by date! And that’s all I have to say on the matter… (having met a couple of them in my dim and distant past – oh yeah!)

Oh and apart from the prompt – Really?!, there’s a song, some lyrics and we got to use speech bubbles!! There are some cool examples on the blog, so do go check it out!! I too, have been sucked in by the lovely weather we’re having here in the UK this week and now have the sunburnt knees to prove it!! Hence the lack of blog posts! Then again, it’s bound to rain soon, innit?!! 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. great interpretation of the prompt 🙂 I know what I’m doing with my “really??” page, just need to find time to sit down and make it happen

    Reply
  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE your take on this!! Love it. I have to agree… REALLY!?!?

    Reply
  3. Glenda Tkalac

     /  April 22, 2011

    I love your page and I couldn’t agree with you more!!! I think of all the starving children and people who go without and it’s sad.

    Reply
    • In 1977, I took part in the Queen’s Silver Jubilee celebfrations – in fact I was on duty throughout, as a WPC in the Metropolitan Police.It was an amazing time, but that was over 30 years ago. Times have changed and there aren’t as many street parties planned, nor is there the same spirit of Community, sadly.
      We have moved on, but I guess the Royals either can’t or won’t.

      Reply
  4. Billie

     /  April 22, 2011

    The nightly news commented, here in the U.S. Half of the cost is for protection… Do you suppose she wears a bullet proof vest under her gown? and with thinking about it. They spend it. where does it go..pays the people that work on the things required for this occasion, so in a way it goes back to the peole..Does that make any sense? I know this, I wouldn’t trade places for anything.

    Reply
    • I find that puzzling really Billie. They have a fleet of Royal vehicles, all bulletproofed; they have a contingent of permanent police/security officers; maybe that’s the overtime bill for the Police to man the procession route… Or, failing that, it’s probably to do with anti-terrorism. See? What unnecessary expense. Why couldn’t they have eloped and had a party the following week???
      Really?!!

      Reply
  5. I love the page, and you have said quite something to think about, if I read above comments. For me, I guess I think the same as you. We have a royal family too in Holland as you know…(in fact ours is visiting yours – and the wedding – next week.)

    Reply
    • Of course… and it’s not like your Royals will be staying in a Hotel or Bed & Breakfast is it? No, we’re probably paying their bill too! Just sayin’…

      Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

