I got the blues…

But in a good way! I have been working on what I refer to as “project denim” for a week or so, now. My DD has given me several pairs of her old jeans  – I love denim – and I decided that I would try to use ALL of one pair to see how many things I can create from them. So far I have a bag from the bum (see photo 1), a clutch bag from one of the lower legs, 2 headbands (newly embellished), 2 wrist-cuffs – blinged up! and a coiled fabric bowl. I am taking all these wondrous things to the Community Market at Halwill Junction tomorrow to see what the other crafty peoples make of them!!

Cute, innit? I made the strap too – using a piece of the other leg and some recycled fabric a friend gave me. Here’s one of the cuffs:

And I wrote a haiku for them – because it’s (Haiku my heart) Friday, isn’t it? 😉

Moody denim blue

Sparks my imagination

Love my baby’s jeans!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. They are the best sort of blues! 😉
    Re-cycling at it’s very best!
    Love the Haiku too although I’m not totally sure what one is 🙂
    xoxo Sioux

    Reply
  2. Fun stuff ! There is just something so comforting about an old pair of jeans, isn’t there ?
    Love your ode to jeans haiku too !
    Have agreat weekend, Rosie !

    Reply
  3. Well I’ve been throwing my old jeans away Rosie… but hey no more!! I never even think to recycle clothes (well except to steal buttons off everything…bit of an obsession lol) I think I need to make friends with my sewing machine again… it’s been a long time since it has seen daylight 😀
    hugs
    Chris xx

    Reply
  4. What a great way to recycle, Rosie! Your creative projects are going to be a big hit tomorrow! Love the Haiku too! Happy weekend! Hugs, Terri xoxo

    Reply
  5. magicalmysticalteacher

     /  June 11, 2011

    You haiku in blue!

    Reply
  6. endearing haiku rosie.
    i love the thought of you creating with something once so close to your daughter.
    i am sure it will be felt by all.

    Reply
  7. very very cute and a great keepsake as well!

    Reply
  8. Fabulous creations: recyled art, i LOVE it all!!!

    Reply
  9. This is so original. I love it. Good luck.

    All the best, Boonie

    Reply
  10. I’m putting my order in for that wrist cuff–bling-beautiful! So imaginative and creative, Rosie! Moody denim blue… don’t it make my brown eyes blue?! …Do you remember Nights in White Satin? Ah… Nice take on the Moody Blues and your baby’s denims!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

