Zippered Pouch #1

A colleague of mine celebrated her 19th birthday today and I wanted to make her something special. She is a real sweetie and very girly, so it had to be feminine. Lord knows I have enough denim creations to stock a shop, but unless I took them all into work for her to try on, we’d have no idea what she liked/or not! Ergo, I decided to make her a zippered pouch/bag. She told me that it had to be summery… and I really didn’t “have to”!!

I know that, but I wanted to try out a new tutorial I saw recently and use up some fabric (yes, and some more denim!!), and this was the perfect excuse. Well, the tutorial really is “idiot-proof”. I have always had an aversion to inserting zips, and this baby is also lined… Here’s the back:

Isn’t that cute? And so functional. By the end of our shift yesterday, she had decided that she is going to keep her phone and her Ipod in it! Cool! 😉

Many thanks to Kate…. of See Kate Sew blog.

EDIT: I just have to add another pic of a zippered bag I made myself last night, to take to work instead of my huge handbag!! Despite an error along the bottom, it still turned out great! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Fantastic Rosie!!! I love how this bag turned out and I’ll bet your friend loved it, too!

    Reply
    • Yeah, she did Mary!! Thanks! I just finished off a slightly different one for myself so I can take a smaller bag into work… Very cool and once I get the hang of it, I’m sure I’ll be able to get it right first time instead of improvising!! 😉

      Reply
  2. Ohhhh, Rosie!!! YOur friend is going to LOVE her gift! ?And thank you, thank you for sharing the link to the tutorial. Putting in zippers has been my nemesis. They’ve always given me fits and starts and have been causes of many curses!!! (Any one in my family can back up that statement!!!) Your pouches are lovely!!! Hugs, Terri xoxoxo

    Reply
    • My pleasure Terri – I know exactly what you mean! Once you’ve tried Kate’s tute out, there’ll be no stopping you! Just think of all the Project Denim ideas you can add a zipper to… 😉

      Reply
  3. Totally fabulously gorgeous! I love it!

    Reply
  4. fatmasplace

     /  June 28, 2011

    rosie, die ist super geworden. muss direkt mal schauen, ob es wieder hosen gibt, die die kinder zerschlissen haben;)

    Reply
  5. I too suffer from zipper phobia ! But I love the results here. Perhaps it is time to face my fears, thanks to your inspiration…
    Beautiful !
    Hugs, Rosie !

    Reply
  1. A love affair or an obsession? « Altered Art & Stuff…

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo