Raw Art Journalling – Found Poetry

I received a very precious gift recently from my BBFF – Barbara Hagerty – a signed copy of Quinn MacDonald‘s book – Raw Art Journalling. I am taking Quinn’s FREE workshop (for which the only requirements are to buy her book and to join the A.R.T Yahoo Group)…

I used two large promo books – one on the 2012 Olympics and one advertising Worthing, West Sussex. By cutting random, appealing words and phrases from these two tomes, I was able to make my own “found poetry” in the small Khadi paper journal. I really dislike the texture of these papers and find them so difficult to paint on!

The disgraceful rioting, looting and mindless (though very well organised) violence of the past few nights is much on my mind, especially after viewing the news in depth this morning. My heart goes out to all the innocent victims who have lost their homes, businesses, livelihoods. I grew up in the suburbs of London, in a multi-cultural society, where we learned to get along, tolerate each other and live peaceably enough as neighbours, sometimes as friends. I knew Ealing well; I lived in Clapham North for a couple of years; I had friends in Enfield, lived near Nottingham… and I still can’t believe what’s happening there – never mind make sense of it.

I admit to also being very shocked by the vitriol and hatred spewed out in the comments under some of the video footage on Youtube… I think my journalling will be quite dark in the days ahead, as I try to process all these emotions.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Hi Rosie…..I feel the same as you. And when I think of the famine, povety and violence in other lands I can’t comprehend what these youngsters are rioting about. I could go on but I won’t but thank you for your journalling.

    Reply
  2. Your painted pages are gorgeous! I don’t think I’ve ever used that paper, and if it’s difficult to work on, you certainly found a way to make it beautiful!

    I’m really eager to get started trying Quinn’s suggestions. I decided to wait for the workshop to start, but I’ve been through the book — several times 😉

    I’m so glad you like it! I really think we’re going to have a great time in the workshop. Can’t wait to organize my room in the castle, and I’m looking forward to day one with Queen Quinn! So glad we’ll be doing this together!

    Hope the foot is better! XOXO

    Reply
    • The foot is as well-behaved as I am! If I do too much or am careless of it, it lets me know in no uncertain terms – blows up like a balloon! However, the bruising has almost vanished… and I have had the “sports’ coach” lecture and training!
      Enough of the foot – I too am anxious to get started with Quinn! xoxoxo

      Reply
  3. This world is in such a chaotic state, Lovely Rosie, it is impossible for us to wrap our heads around. I guess all we can do it keep focused on our hearts. Saying prayers for a quick and quiet ending to this violence and for the safety of all.
    Keep on creating. The world needs you.
    Light and love .

    Reply
    • Thanks sweetie! It really is rather depressing – DD was “invited” to a riot yesterday evening… :O What’s that all about??? I mean, now the kids down here think they’re missing out??? Come on people, there has to be a better way.

      Reply
  4. I was thinking of you Rosie, England is all over the news here… I’m glad you’re doing OK (well, not ok but safe, kwim?) And I am surprised to see your ‘word-poetry’ – great minds think alike ’cause I have my haiku-page made this way lay waiting for Friday…. you’ll see it on my blog then.

    Reply
  1. Muse, born with the pen… | Marit's Paper World (blog)

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

