Weavings…

I’m taking Quinn MacDonald’s Raw Art Journalling Class and discovering strange things about me, myself and I! Hopefully I am not turning into a stalker, but I have been visiting Quinn’s blog (and a couple of others) very regularly lately. For instance, yesterday I linked to the paper-weaving tutorial Quinn had posted.

Maybe I have been a bit cynical, but I never realised how cool the simple acts can be… I cut up 2 backgrounds I had made – one from the last time I was carving erasers, so on thin foolscap paper; the other was a Fabriano watercolour card that had printed out wrong and thus been used in an experiment with 3D paint -writing (don’t ask!). So, different texture and weights of papers became this:

I didn’t think it’d work at first as the colours are a bit similar, but I swapped them around a bit and taped down the heavier watercolour strips first. They aren’t even, although I did cut them out with scissors, I just didn’t do it too precisely! I then took strips of the lighter-weight paper and wove them through the downward strips.

Of course, having discovered that I have a control-freak gremlin – came as a bit of a shock, actually – I couldn’t just be happy with the weaving, no! I got the black and white pens out and started to doodle… But, I think the weaving is now much better and more appropriate for inclusion in (one of) my art journal(s)!

In my jobs and in my home, I know that I am a bit of a perfectionist. I may not be “Mrs. Tidy”, but I am clean, and fairly well organised; I do tend to be a bit impatient – hate waiting for ‘other people’ to do stuff, when I know that secretly I could do it faster/better myself… so I guess I do have gremlins after all. 😉

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Pam Prosser

     /  August 18, 2011

    Great colours, Rosie, and it looks beaut.

    Reply
  2. Pam Prosser

     /  August 18, 2011

    You betcha !!

    Reply
  3. This looks great! Paper weaving looks better if it is a bit uneven. And I love, love, love the random marks and over-doodles. Excellent idea! Being a perfectionist is really hard on creativity, because it’s hard to get to that experimentation phase successfully. I’m a recovering perfectionist myself, and it feels a lot better to recognize the gremlin, give him/her some work to do, and sneak off to the studio!

    Reply
  4. I love your doodling on top of the weaving, Rosie! And I really love that you wove it with strips of your own work! Bravo!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

