Take a Word #51 – Childhood

I developed my love of books and losing myself in other worlds when I was a child. I was one of those kids who’d be sleepy in the morning on the way to school because I’d been reading under the bedclothes by the light of a torch! So when I saw this quote by Marcel Proust, I created the artwork around it!

Thanks to Tangie Baxter for the cat. The vintage image is from my own collection of photos.

For Take a Word this week.  🙂

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. this is just a delight!!!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like me too, Rosie,
    and I love your vintage piece!

    Reply
  3. Beautiful vintage work Rosie. Bdeautiful scene with reading a book.
    Lovely greet Marja

    Reply
  4. Lovely art and quote, Rosie! Books were SO important in my childhood…wait, they still are!

    Reply
  5. What a gorgeous photo! Makes a really beautiful card.xx

    Reply
  6. i can´t imagine how i would have survived childhood and youth without books (and music)… great quote. i love how you put that all together. cats might become your identification mark;)

    Reply
  7. Beautiful photo!
    Beautiful idea!
    Books are dreams bringers for all children!

    Reply
  8. Rosie, your art is so gorgeous with those fiery colors and that adorable image of the girl with the huge book. I had lots of chores to do as a child and tried to fit reading in between them. Sometimes I couldn’t put a book down. I’d say: let me get to the end of the chapter. But you know what, I never saw the end of the chapter, so engrossed was I. If I get into a good book, I’m still the same way. I just don’t see the words; they just flow into my mind. Keep up the great work.

    Reply
  9. I love the use of the victorian stamps/brushes on the background too, Rosie.
    And yep…those yummie colors with your idea !! Very stylish and striking !!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

