Stormy weather…

I was thinking about what a week of pretty foul weather we’ve had here in the West Country this past week… Admittedly, we haven’t had snow per se, although there was a light snow shower on Tuesday night in Milton Damerel, just enough to coat the cars’ windscreens, but it has been epically windy – even for here – and a constant battering on the psyche wears you down eventually.

We have two old-ish dogs – a Yorkie and a German Shepherd – both of which have appeared on my blog in photos and layouts, and on Wednesday night at around 11pm, there was the most horrendous thunderclap, which literally shook the house. It felt like an explosion had happened nearby. I have no objection to a Yorkie landing in my lap, quivering with terror, but fighting off a 40- kg. (85lbs. approx.) male dog, in a similar condition, is no joke! (It’s a funny visual though…)

Luckily, there were only 4 more thunderclaps and then just the persistent howling of the wind down the chimney, plus rain and the occasional hail shower, for the rest of that night…

Ergo, my haiku this week is dedicated to the tenacity of weather fronts in general!

The mighty wind roars –

thunderclaps, Nature’s applause – 

power clearly shown…

I got the lovely image HERE.

For more haiku, go to Recuerda mi corazon, hosted by the lovely Rebecca.

 

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Wow – you sure know your way around great sites on the internet and what a fabulous Haiku

    Reply
  2. Oh yes, I know exactly where you are coming from, my boys only have to hear rain pattering on the window and they follow me round all day! Love your haiku and the image is just fabulous, will check it out after posting.

    BTW Thanks for asking about my daughter, it is slowly slowly she is having a hard time adjusting to the medication, not much Christmas sparkle!

    Reply
    • We had much the same at the beginning of this year with our DD… You think it’ll never end, but it does.
      Huggggggggggsssssssssss to you both xxxx

      Reply
  3. Power indeed!!! The entire post speaks of POWER!!! Thank you!

    Reply
  4. That certainly is a very striking image! I love haiku about weather, nature, the moon and stars. I love yours today. (and i did get a cute visual with the German Shepard taking refuge on your lap!). Watching, and feeling, weather in any form can be such a grand experience, don’t you think?

    Peace

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous photos ! And words that made me feel the storm.
    Poor Rosie ! That really is a lap full !
    Happy Friday !

    Reply
  6. marit you have a STRONG presence here in all our hearts.

    perhaps the thunder you hear, are a thousand hands clapping in joy for YOU!

    Reply
  7. ~Natures applause!~ I love that! and YES! clapping in Joy like Rebecca said!

    Reply
  8. You captured the weather at the moment perfectly.

    Reply
  9. Your Haiku is powerful and you found the perfect image!
    You made me smile at the 85lb dog needing his mommy 😀
    ♥♥♥

    Reply
  10. Wonderful haiku and love the photo ~ And the visuals about the storm and dogs I can relate ~ have a Yorkie (not afraid of storms) and had a 90 lb lab that was and wanted to get in my lap ~~ thanks, namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor)

    Reply
  11. I love it when nature shows us who’s really boss – us humans, we can be so arrogant!

    Reply
  12. Woo hoo this is awesome!!!

    Reply
  13. I don’t know about you, but I can do without nature’s applause! Great haiku!

    Reply
  14. we have had some crazy wind here also…and i can imagine my own big dog ending up in my lap! beautiful tribute to the wild that is nature in your haiku, rosie…xo

    Reply
  15. I can feel the wind!!!
    beautiful!!

    Reply
  16. Lovely haiku!

    Reply
  17. Sorry to be late with my comment dear. I LOVE that image. So romantic! Looks like something out of Wuthering Heights!. I would love to see a picture of you with the giant dog on your lap. That would be a sight! Sounds like amazing weather patterns. We have had some rain and thunder and lightning here but nothing quite that dramatic in California. Thanks for your lovely comments on my post.
    xoxo,
    Noelle

    Reply
  18. billiescraftroom

     /  January 13, 2012

    Hi Rosie

    Gosh that is a big dog to land on you! Can just see it too :0

    We had a lot of fence damage thanks to the wind too. Shame the wind doesn’t blow in money to repair all the fences it rips down with abandon!

    Our fences now have more holes than swiss cheese.

    Billie

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo

