My unpredictable muse…

Isn’t it funny how sometimes you start to create something and it takes you in an unexpected direction? We were very busy at home today, taking advantage of the reasonably good weather to tackle sorting through the junk and non-junk in our garage. Despite the very blustery wind, Nick and I managed to bring half the garage out into the garden, dispose of a lot of rubbish and make inroads into reorganising his formidable fishing tackle! I won’t even go there…

Eventually, I had time this evening to go upstairs and make something. I pottered about, picking fabric and old jeans up and putting them down again: I had the urge to work with fabric but couldn’t face clearing the little table on which I usually put my sewing machine. I turned my attention to one of the bamboo dominos I bought from Lisa Vollrath’s TenTwo Studios, but although they’re pre-drilled, my cord wouldn’t pass through the holes – splinters! So I had to start decorating the domino and leave it till I clean the holes tomorrow with the tiny rotary tool set Nick gave me today! It’s very similar to a Dremel…

So I took the 2 cowgirl fabric transfers I had left over and decided to do something with them. Here’s what happened:

I used the Poppy Pods (Stampington) to frame the images and the Stampers Anonymous image with Saddle Brown Stazon to decorate the frame. I have lusted after these 2 stamps for ages and I recently bought them on Ebay from a fellow artist who’s clearing house to move – thank you so much Jan! (Nevada Artist). The strip across the top and bottom of the images is paper lace (roses), distressed with Frayed Burlap, just tapped really. I had to scan these frames as the flash kept bouncing off the transfers…

Then it occurred to me that I had subconsciously satisfied the required elements for 3 challenges! Theme ThursdayFlowers; Mixed Media Monday Rust; This Thursday (which is what I started out to create for!) – ‘The Golden Rule’. The Golden Rule is to make something practical and useful or simply beautiful and I think these turned out well enough to be in the latter category! I believe I shall save them for the Craft Fair in November which I shall be working towards now.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. lovely

    Reply
  2. Woweeee Rosie….these are wonderful ! You are so clever with all your ideas.
    Where is the craft fair going to be hon…if there are going to be lovely pieces like this I am heading on over !

    Reply
  3. Sue Curtis

     /  July 25, 2008

    Rosie, you’ve done it again- I loooove the sepia old west look!

    Reply
  4. You accomplished a tremendous amount of work today, Rosie. I’m glad you had the energy to do art, too. Your pieces are so beautiful.

    Reply
  5. Well, aren’t you just the bees knees combining all those challenges AND creating two fantastic creations! I just Love visiting, you always have so many treats in store…..and now your garage is tidy….I’m SO jealous 🙂 :)OXO

    Reply
  6. Great combination of challenges — with a fabulous end result. They both are lovely!

    Reply
  7. Wonderful pieces Rosie! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Sandy

     /  July 25, 2008

    Wow Rosie they are wonderful.
    Stunning work again and again.

    Reply
  9. They’re beautiful Rosie. What craft fair are you doing in November?
    You made me smile with your talk of formidable tackle – just glad you put the fishing bit in there ! LOL!!!

    Reply
  10. You never cease to amaze me! A full day’s work and then some, and you have the creative energy left for these beauties!! What a fabulous pair! I LOVE that poppies stamp (Christine Adolph?)!! You really have a knack for turning things that are already beautiful into something even more beautiful! WOW!

    Reply
  11. susiebwell

     /  July 25, 2008

    OOh Rosie these are wonderful!
    Thanks for playing along with us!xx

    Reply
  12. These are both stunningly beautiful . Im sure you will have no trouble selling them at the craft fair, Can you come and tidy my garage (well cellar we havn’t got a garage) LOL
    Thanks for taking part in this weeks challenge brill work

    Reply
  13. Both are Beautiful, love the images 🙂

    Reply
  14. Wow – three in one go – its all I can do to manage one!

    Reply
  15. These look great Rosie!

    Reply
  16. STUNNING!!! love how you framed the images.

    Reply
  17. I love this, what a fab art. Kimx

    Reply
  18. mixedmediamonday

     /  July 25, 2008

    Wonderful! Diane

    Reply
  19. Incredible!!
    Great work.

    Reply
  20. wonderful pieces Rosie, great idea.

    Reply
  21. Gorgeous!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo