An ATC and a Skinny!

I feel so good now I’ve had an hour up in my room and had a chance to play again… art soothes the busy mind, the weary body and the restless soul. Not a quote, merely how I feel right now! I like playing with text pages and colours, so I made my backgrounds by scribbling watercolour pencils onto torn out dictionary pages. I then brushed water or floor wax over them to spread the colour. I adhered these to ATCs and a pre-cut skinny. Then I taped down some punchinella (sequin waste) and sponged gesso over them around the edges. Stamping was done with black Stazon ink and I cut words I liked from another page(s). I made the asian girl a flower for her hair with white 3D paint by Anita’s and popped a couple of orange seed beads into it before it dried. Ah!!!!

This is my Skinny for Created by Hand (‘orange/skinny’) and ArtyGirlz (‘Eras’) as she’s from Ria’s Victorian plate and the beautiful ‘Eyes’ ATC is from Third Coast RS (thank you Val!).

Tracey has given me an award which I shall blog tomorrow – thank you so much!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. WOW Both creations are fantastic Rosie I love the effect you got from using the sequin waste and the colours are gorgeous

    Thanks for joining in with Arty Girlz once again xxx

    Reply
  2. Rosie, what gorgeous backgrounds! I love both your pieces. What wonderful stamps you have. I love the Asian girl and the eyes.

    Reply
  3. barnie

     /  July 22, 2008

    Wow, Rosie, both of your works are really wonderful again. Love how you’ve made the backgrounds. Thanks for the details 🙂

    Reply
  4. carolann

     /  July 22, 2008

    These are brilliant Rosie love the images well done hun xxx

    Reply
  5. These are beautiful. The ATC is absolutely mesmerizing.

    Reply
  6. Stunning but I do love the eyes – that is a great stamp indeed!

    Reply
  7. wonderful cso strong like them both.
    chriss x

    Reply
  8. These are fabulous!! I especially love the eyes! I could stare at it for hours! Love what you’ve done with the gesso and sequin waste. I can’t wait to play with the heart-shaped from your RAK!!

    Reply
  9. Great Orange skinny.

    Reply
  10. Rosie, your items look so wonderful!
    I love the gleam in those eyes, they look so real.

    And I love best that you felt so good after this flash of creation 😉

    Please take a look at my site, I’ve got an award for you.

    Reply
  11. Hi Rosie,
    Psssssssssss its another fantastic !! love your art ! bizzz

    Reply
  12. Sandy

     /  July 23, 2008

    Rosie, Rosie awwwwwwww they are stunning.
    Amazing backgrounds. Love them.

    Reply
  13. Cool! Great work.

    Reply
  14. crissi

     /  July 24, 2008

    fab skinny Rosie love the rich colour.

    Thanks for joining in with the Arty Girlz challenge.

    crissi xx

    Reply
  15. Nice. I like the various painting elements you used

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo