Love and Milagros Hearts…

Rosie & Linda have a really unusual challenge at Big Art Adventure – milagros hearts. (I had to google it, and very interesting it was too!) And Go make Something’s Make It Mondays challenge is Love. The 2 kind of go hand-in-hand, don’t they? So, inspired by Linda’s needle-felting and using the tools and some rovings she sent me, I created this little ‘green’ heart, backed it onto a section of recycled and CB embossed aluminium foil can and tied a super piece of ribbon (thanks Adrienne and Annie!) to it, to make a hanger.

 milagros-heart2

Here’s an ATC I finished this evening for a swap on UK Art swaps group. We had to use a photo or magazine pic for our background, paint over it thinly with gesso and then finish it off. The 3 ATCs had to have a common theme or make a set. I used ‘Harry’ from Ria’s Victorian Plate (Home Impressions) – he’s such a heart-throb, isn’t he?!!

atc-mim1

I hope the recipient becomes a Harry fan too! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I didn’t know about Rosie and Linda’s “Big Art Adventure”…thank you for the lead. I have got to head over there and check it out!

    I haven’t done ATCs in a while but Harry is very dapper. lol Your heart is gorgeous! How did you emboss it? (I’m all about learning new stuff and this is so beautiful.)

    smile. be free. have fun.
    Peace & Love,
    ♥ Barb ♥

    Reply
  2. Love how you try so many things! Getting good use out of your CB embossing folders. Fab heart!

    Reply
  3. Rosie

     /  February 10, 2009

    Trying out new ideas and techniques is so much in the spirit of what we’re trying to do with the Awfully Big Art Adventure, so well done!! Love the felt heart and the metalwork too, and thanks for taking part in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

    Reply
  4. brilliant work Rosie…you always go the extra mile when creating…such an inspiration
    …….and I’m happy to see Harry is still the ladies fave ! (…and mine ) x

    Reply
  5. The milagros is stunning – I absoloutely love the combination of the metalwork and felting. Beautiful piece

    Reply
  6. Hi Rosie – I’m so pleased you liked doing the felting! You’ve used it to perfection with the metal; its a beautiful piece of artwork.
    Love Linda x

    Reply
  7. I am so glad to see Harry again! I have missed his dapper look! LOVE the tiny hearts in the background!! You’ll have to tell me about needle felting! I’m in love with the look and feel of it, but is it hard to do? And as far as HRH is concerned, well, I’m sure she had a terrific sense of humor. Remember, she knighted Sir Paul, and he wrote the song! XOXO

    Reply
  8. Your heart is beautiful! The felting and the metal are such a great contrast to each other. And you used fantastic color combinations.
    Love it!

    Reply
  9. wow, its super, and what a fab piece of ribbon the colours are fab, it finishes everything off nicely, Jaqi

    Reply
  10. Harry’s quite the dapper cutie :o)

    Reply
  11. Eloise A

     /  February 17, 2009

    I just love your felted heart! The whole piece is simple, yet beautiful… I have always been intrigued by felting. But, not having much instruction in it, i haven’t tried it… yet. Someday… Did you find it easy to make the heart? It’s so cool that you added it to the aluminum foil. I don’t think i would have thought of that. If i were you, i would hang this somewhere out in the open so every time i looked at it, it would just make me smile:)

    Reply
  12. there seems to have been something started with these hearts, they loook really good and might be worth a little research via google, thanks

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo