Something new!

My pal Barbara Hagerty set this week’s challenge at Mixed Media Monday “Something new”… well by sheer coincidence I was reading the Art from the Heart newsletter and the Illustration fortnight challenge just happens to be Blot art! I’ve never tried this before and it sounds very simple, but it really isn’t. Actually, if you’re a liberated, free-flowing, unstructured- type artist-person, it probably is… but I discovered I’m not! My inner control-freak and I had a few battles with this one, but I finally found 2 examples I like.

These are my Sea Cabbages! Pure drawing ink on damp book pages.

Fractal Fly

And this one lent itself to a very abstract dragonfly. I blew on the ink blots through a straw… I also have a very weird alien eating blots, but that one needs work – or the bin! This was an ideal exercise for me considering I feel like I’ve been hit over the head with a flu-bat! Quite suddenly at lunchtime, I started to feel really full of cold and heady, in a thick, muzzy way, so I expect I am getting one of those annoying headcolds (again!). Maybe I’ll be lucky and it’ll be a 24-hour bug? Whatever happens, there’s a hot toddy on the menu tonight before bed!!

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Now this is very cool, and I know what you mean about just being intuitive–it’s not that easy. (I hope you feel better)

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  January 11, 2010

    Wow these are stunning.
    Brilliant splashes. Love them.

    Reply
  3. Awesome, I absolutely love the second one!!!

    Reply
  4. barnie

     /  January 11, 2010

    You see me moth-opened. Absolut fantastic.

    Reply
  5. What fun! I must give this a try. The fly reminds me a little of that pressed fairy book – have you ever seen it? Very funny, let me see if I can find a link to it somwhere… hang on…ah here we are… http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lady-Cottingtons-Pressed-Fairy-Book/dp/1857933362

    You have such a great imagination Rosie!

    Reply
  6. Wow… Rosie, this is absolutely stunning!

    Reply
  7. allmimsey

     /  January 11, 2010

    Wonderful fun!

    Reply
  8. I love them, Rosie! They turned out great! See? You ARE a free spirit! Wonderful…and I love the birthday one too–beautiful! Hugs, Cindy

    Reply
  9. I LOVE these! Gorgeous color Rosie! I love the wispy lines of the sea cabbage, and your fractal fly is wonderful….definitely NOT for the bin! Have a toddy or two, get a peaceful night’s sleep and stay out of the snow and the cold till you’re feeling better! XOXO

    Reply
  10. These are fantastic! Really, really love your pan & ink work!

    Reply
  11. Excellent artwork, Rosie ! (As always)

    Reply
  12. Really beautiful!!

    Reply
  13. What wonderful creations! I hope you feel better soon.

    Reply
  14. Brilliant! Very creative.
    Elaine

    Reply
  15. Ooh, I think they turned out very well! I like that you used pages from a book. The text works very well behind them.

    Reply
  16. mixedmediamonday

     /  January 14, 2010

    Wow, Rosie, these are great! Love the effects you achieved! Don’t you hate that inner (and in my case outer as well) control freak 🙂 Diane

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo