Being a model was fun, but…

Melandra was really missing the ocean. This modelling gig wasn’t really all it had seemed when she’d taken the job. And “Does my bum look big in this?” – don’t even get me started…

Just some fun for Sunday Postcard Art Mermaids this week. I resurrected this failed postcard from last week – which almost made it into the bin, but I liked  the scrap of fabric I’d stitched onto it, so I couldn’t bin it!

I just wanna go home...

The image is a vintage naughty nude from Ten Two Studios, which I altered – she didn’t have a fishtail originally! The background is painted and then layered with another TTS vintage image of Niagara Falls and then I have layered mohair fibres (love these!), a leftover scrap from my architecture spread last week, some purple painted lace from my scrap basket – not at all what I was looking for, but pretty!

The borders are also scraps – the left hand side I cut from a larger piece of embossed, paint-smeared fabric which was in a pack of scraps accompanying a book I bought from the US. 

Now to go see all the other lovely work at SPA this week! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. johanna

     /  February 28, 2010

    your scraps piece turned out fantastic!! i love all the sewing and that you included the mohair fibre! again a lesson in the series “never waste anything!”;)

    Reply
  2. Amazing stitchwitchery, Rosie. It all comes together in a lovely piece. Applause from my corner.

    Reply
  3. What an amazing piece of fabric collage, dear Rosie! So beautiful and perfect! BRAVO!

    Reply
  4. Sandy

     /  February 28, 2010

    Stunning fabric creation dear Rosie.
    Amazing work. Love it.

    Reply
  5. What a glorious (and funny) stitched collage. Rosie, your artwork always knocks me for a six (a cricket term) and I just love returning to your blog to see what you have for us. I am never disappointed.
    (PS – believe it or not, digital painting is pretty much the same as ordinary painting except it’s the mouse pretending to be an oil brush, a crayon, a water colour brush and so on. No short cuts. Every stroke has to be manipulated with the mouse. ArtRage is a cheap download and it is the best painting software on the planet in my opinion. I have a lot of fun with it).

    Reply
  6. Oh my gosh–this is absolutely gorgeous!!!
    What a beautiful piece–You have made
    such a glorious creation!!!!

    Reply
  7. I adore your sewn mermaid, all the different textures & colors remind me of things you’d find at the sea!!! Love it friend!
    Thanks for sharing..
    Smiles,
    Susie

    Reply
  8. Oh my! You’ve outdone yourself with this amazing sewn piece! BRAVO!!!

    Reply
  9. NEVER put a ‘failed’ creation into the bin – look what came out of this! It’s gorgeous and brilliant – cheers!

    Reply
  10. Wonderful creative stitching – love this effect!

    Reply
  11. amy

     /  February 28, 2010

    wow..amazing fiber and texture..you did really well..superb!!!!

    Reply
  12. Another spectacular piece, Rosie, it makes me want to hold it in my hand & feel your beautiful handcrafting!! (yes, we really did have a tsunami warning due to Chile’s very violent earthquake, but all ok – “ive put the mermaids back out to sea ,now!!)

    Reply
  13. Absolutely gorgeous collage, Rosemary!

    Reply
  14. Hi Rosie, I do love your collage, there’s so much texture going on and a little bit of ‘naughty’ makes a nice change!
    Thanks for posting on my blog. I have replied to say I would love to give you a piece of my fabric/paper. I have cut some ATC sizes so if you email me your address I’ll put it in the post tomorrow. Meanwhile, I’ll be popping by now and again to see your glorious works of art!
    Regards,
    Debs x

    Reply
  15. It’s gorgeous!

    Reply
  16. I love this – so wonderfully textured and lively.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo