Fishy fun!

One of the ladies I work with celebrated her birthday this week and as she’s a world-class angler, something fun and fishy was entirely appropriate! I created this very simple, primitive fabric keyfob for her and it’s my entry for this week’s Mixed Media Monday – “Child’s Play“!

Best fishes...!!

I drew the fish shape very simply on what remains of my patched paper/fabric quilt, cut it out, stitched round the edges, attaching the green netting as I went. I added the eyelet and the keychain, et voila! She was really pleased with it  – result!

My favourite book when I was small was by Dr. Seuss – One fish, two fish… and remember songs like “When the Boat Comes in”? Fun to remember all those fishy, childhood things that I experienced when I was small and when I had my little girl… now a teenager! 😉

Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. johanna

     /  May 17, 2010

    love your fish!! sounds simple, but what a great effect you achieved!

    Reply
  2. Sandy

     /  May 17, 2010

    Oh wow this is fantastic.
    Great idea Rosie. Love it.

    Reply
  3. Rosie hi 🙂
    fish are one of my favorite subjects!plus I am a pisces 😉
    I love how you’ve included text and the netting. Great art piece!!
    xoxox

    Reply
  4. Absolutely awesome! love it

    Reply
  5. This is a beautiful fish Rosie, love it!

    Reply
  6. I love this fish!!!

    Reply
  7. Rosie what a sweet little fish you have made, love it.

    Reply
  8. This is beautifull, so much fun to make i think!

    Reply
  9. barnie

     /  May 17, 2010

    Rosie, your little fish looks fantastic, a lovely gift.

    Reply
  10. amy

     /  May 17, 2010

    I totally love that key chain..it’s really very cool

    Reply
  11. Rosie, I gather you are not to be trusted with a pair of scissors if you go around your house chopping bits out of quilts etc!! Your fish is wonderful. He is so unique and, yes, handsome in his own way. Great work.

    Reply
  12. Very cute 🙂 and what a thoughtful gift too.

    Reply
  13. thou shalt have a fishy on a little dishy! Great little fish Rosie – a splash of colour and fun!

    Reply
  14. This is just wonderful! It made me giggle. Such fun!

    Reply
  15. mixedmediamonday

     /  May 22, 2010

    Rosie – what a lucky work mate you have 🙂 The fish is wonderful – I bet she was over the moon! Diane

    Reply
  16. B

     /  May 22, 2010

    I love your fish. It has wonderful energy. I loved Dr. Seuss, too, and your fish has his whimsy.

    Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Fishy fun! « -- Topsy.com

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo