Cooling it down…

… for Diane over at Mixed Media Monday, this week. I enjoyed the red challenge so much last week, I went straight back to my LTS journal and slapped the paint about again! I wanted birdies too, so I cut a couple of very basic stencils and included them on the pages. My DD objected to the use of pink (magenta, actually!) with the purples and blues. I am a creature of habit though, and tried to explain to her that I like contrast and bold… but she was having none of it! There were references to ‘Ken’ and ‘Barbie’ in there somewhere – not sure I follow that though!

Purple Rennie birds???

This isn’t finished yet, but because I think it would translate well to fabric, I am going to try and put it on Spoonflower and see what a swatch looks like… and then I may add sentiments to the spread. I am not sure yet, though. What do you think?

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Ooh lush Rosie lush. Pink is perfect as you know and love that little splash of green. Have the bottom two birdies had a spat. I don’t think they’re talking to each other at the moment… perhaps one ate all the food on the bird table!

    Reply
  2. johanna

     /  August 30, 2010

    i just LOVE your vibrant colors!! and blue is my all-time-favorite… so it is perfect in every way!!

    Reply
  3. barnie

     /  August 30, 2010

    Wow, you see me mouth-opened again. The colours are so wonderful and the texture looks perfect.

    Reply
  4. amy

     /  August 30, 2010

    the purple and black are awesome!

    Reply
  5. hi Rosie!!!! I love your cooling it down piece…it looks wonderful….your colours are so brilliant and the cute birds are adorable!!!

    Reply
  6. Birds and bold! I’m on my way now to see what Spoonflower is! This looks as if you had a fine time with the paints! Well done.

    Reply
  7. Love your purple madness! A beautiful fusion of color and image Rosie!

    Reply
  8. LOVE!! I really loved your piece last week too – I wonder, will you be doing a warm version next? How cool would it be to do a color series? Kristin xo

    Reply
  9. Rosie, I love it!! the colours are so vibrant and intense! I love this new work you’re doing!!
    xoxo

    Reply
  10. B

     /  August 31, 2010

    Love the rich colors!

    Reply
  11. Great page thus far, and the magenta is perfect. Trust your instinct!
    xo
    Gaye

    Reply
  12. I love it just the way it is! and it would be great on fabric too 🙂
    Inka

    Reply
  13. These colors are so pretty!!

    Reply
  14. Rosie, I certainly don’t get Ken and Barbie from your very striking piece. Love this!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo