Crop blots and blackbird rings…

There are always strange goings on down here. “Here” would be the torrid depths of my tormented artconscious, closely linked to the subconscious, just more colourful! This is a weird one for Take A Word’s “Blackbird” theme this week… You see, no-one knew how They were getting through the canvas, just that they appeared, like blots on the landscape early one morning.

I started with this colourful background from one of my art journals:

Blots on the landscape...

You can’t tell from the scan, but the inkys are really rather shiny! And then I changed the colours and included some of the opposite page, plus a few Photoshop brushes from Tartx (Wonderland) sets and some Greenbulb Gang freebies, lots of layers and Them – the Three Smoking Blackbirds.

But where did They come from???

Would that I were clever enough to further manipulate the birds! But, playing with digital, as much as I do enjoy it, requires more patience and skill than I possess. I am better off playing on occasions and then spending my remaining leisure time (hahaha…), getting messy!!

Logical really, isn’t it? If I didn’t make the mess with inks and stuff, I wouldn’t have these amazingly colourful backgrounds to work with for starters! Now I look a little closer, I can see influences of Alice in Wonderland with which I was so taken in January and of course Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets has been on a lot recently too… and then I feel that I am constantly going round in circles in real life. I got conned recently and I think subconsciously, that also plays on my mind – things are never quite what they seem, are they? Nor some people, for that matter…

Thank heavens for art, Photoshop and WordPress! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. it’s really interesting to read your explanations of what is going on behind your work…it’s good that you can figure these things out

    Reply
  2. At first i thought your ‘ blots on the landscape’ was your entry & I was blown away by it, but no, what a surprise you turned it into another of your amazing cards – outstanding!!

    Reply
  3. Love your creation, it is amazing, green is a great idea for your wonderful background.
    pat

    Reply
  4. Intriguing where you took those ink blots! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Fascinating what you’ve done with the ink blots. Bravo!

    Reply
  6. Love this it is amazing so unique and gorgeous…fantastic job Rosie…Bravo!!!

    Reply
  7. That’s fabulous!

    Reply
  8. Beautifully presented. Terrific art piece.

    Reply
  9. Wonderful creativity- love your expressive ink blots Rosie- they create a beautiful background for your blackbirds!

    Reply
  10. That’s cool and the way from the canvas to the digital work is interesting.

    Reply
  11. fantastic!!!!!!! thanks for the explanations!

    Reply
  12. danisart

     /  February 7, 2011

    soooo beautiful

    Reply
  13. You are just so creative, Rosie. I love your original piece, and then seeing it after you have altered it into another wonderful piece – wonderful work, my friend!

    Reply
  14. You know I actually think you nailed it with just the background. You warned us something sinister was going on from the link on the Take a Word page and when I saw what you’d done, I was bowled over. It’s so raw, so much movement and suggestion – like three birds are fighting on the wing and spiralling down to earth savaging at each other. Deep stuff my friend. If you could drip some transparent pearl colour over that circular drip mark, it would make an excellent allusion to the moon.

    Reply
  15. taluula

     /  February 7, 2011

    Wow Rosie the whole of this post and your images within in it are mind blowing this week. I too, first thought the inky blots were your interpretation, and then was amazed as I continued to read and view your post and saw what they turned into. I am glad you turn to Photoshop sometimes my friend, it is such a treat.

    Reply
  16. The process resulted in a wonderful piece of art! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply
  17. Effie

     /  February 7, 2011

    Fabulous piec of work.. I love those splats!

    Reply
  18. Very creative, Rosie!!

    Reply
  19. Those inkblots are mesmerising, Rosie. They have a way of drawing the viewer in to the picture which is a wee bit creepy – but enjoyable in a strange sort of way. I love both blackbird pieces. Scrumptious artwork as always.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo