Double Take!

When I saw the typo in the title, that’s exactly what I did! Double Tkae indeed – and I’m an English teacher – hah! I have no excuse for the frequent typos, I have no idea why I can’t touch type either. I can’t even use predictive text… you should see some of the things I used to send DD before I learned to turn it off!

Anyway, I digress… this week’s challenge at SPA was to use the same image twice in our postcard art. I started with the makeovers again yesterday – sewing machine, scissors, ironing board out upstairs and I cut 3 pairs of fingerless gloves from an old lambswool waistcoat (now awaiting embellishment before they go to the Etsy shop!); I converted a shiny black dress into a bag (awaiting handles) and even made the zipper go round the corner!!! I cut and tore strips of silk up for the prettifying and sewed up a sweet pair of variegated blue wristies (that have a matching hat) to photograph and Etsy later… I have also started the sleeves of the jacket I was knitting back before Christmas, so I was in full-on, artisan-mode.

I decided to take advantage of not yet having put away the sewing machine this morning and create a fabric postcard. I have some beautiful vintage playing cards with the same image on every one which were ideal for the theme. I get Linda Matthews  newsletter every week and she shares some beautiful tutorials, etc. I am often inspired by her (textile) projects and I wanted to try the simple scrap-strips method she showed one week… although I didn’t use the iron, I just stitched them together.

Seeing double...

It’s such a pity the metallic ribbon on the right and the shiny gold fabric on the left don’t scan well, but you can just see the red metallic thread I used to stitch the images down, can’t you? I know metallic thread can be tricky to stitch with – mine broke once when I was sewing through the brown suedette strip – but if you stand the spool on the table behind your machine, the thread seems to flow more freely and not get stretched to snapping point.

That’s a tip from a Cloth, Paper, Scissors newsletter last year!! See, I may be very eclectic and untrained, but I do pay attention sometimes! The reason for this foray back into stitch, knit, sew is really down to my bookbinding buddy ***Billie (Billie’s Craft Room), whom I first ‘met’ in JP’s Supernova Journalling Class. Billie has been picking my (in)expert brains about interfacing, threads, knitting, etc. We haven’t met in real life yet, but as we are moving later this year, it’s a pretty fair bet that we will sooner or later… 🙂

***See Billie’s blog for loads of tutorials about crafting items, reviews, featured artist of the month is a good read too! And, if you need help, Billie’s bound to respond quickly – she’s very kind (and a Twitter addict!).

So, this is a long post, innit? But, I might be too busy embellishing and stuff to write much this week – we’ll have to see how it goes. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Next Post
Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. I think this is just fantastic Rosie! So clever. Big Hugs xx

    Reply
  2. dutchstamptramp

     /  February 27, 2011

    Beautiful, great idea and wonderful colorscheme

    Reply
  3. A fantastic fabric collage.

    Reply
  4. Hella

     /  February 27, 2011

    Fantastic! Loce your sewing art.

    Reply
  5. fabulous Rosie! I love your mixed sewing paper/ fabric pieces so much..they are all awesome!

    Reply
  6. Fantastic postcard – love the fabrics and stitching; and the images you have used!

    Reply
  7. yasmindeboo

     /  February 27, 2011

    Fabulous fabric art.

    Reply
  8. Fantastic Rosie…I love it…beatiful colors and details…excellent!!

    Reply
  9. Stunning piece, dear Rosie!! Everything works so well together.

    Reply
  10. just lovely!

    Reply
  11. The texture makes me want to touch it. I really like the way you flipped the photos and the definitions!

    Reply
  12. Beautiful, love the texture you are so clever Marie

    Reply
  13. Rosie, this is amazing! I love your stitching and want to run and get out my sewing machine (of course that would mean clearing a spot, so not likely). Just gorgeous.

    Cindy 🙂

    Reply
    • I understand completely… Mine lives in a corner and I art on a gate-leg table. So, when DD is away, I pull out the gateleg and get the machine out too! I can’t go for very long without it you know!! =)

      Reply
  14. Love the textures in your postcard!!! Pretty lady too.

    Reply
  15. It’s looks fabulous and it must look even better in real life! It’s wonderful, Rosie.

    Reply
  16. Wonderful! Beautifully created.

    Reply
  17. I love it when you incorporate sewing into your art pieces, Rosie, gorgeous card, perfect image!

    Reply
  18. Love the texture and love how you have incorporated the definitions too – great piece!! Cheers!

    Reply
  19. Love your postcard and its original design!

    Reply
  20. billiescraftroom

     /  March 9, 2011

    Hi Rosie

    Ohh you are clever, and so brave what you give your sewing machine to play with. My machine still has the ‘L’ plates firmly attatched at the moment 😉

    Its gonna get dangerous for both our savings if we get together isn’t it. Temptation city!! Still I can blame you and you can blame me so thats alright 🙂

    Best wishes

    Billie 🙂

    Reply
  1. Take advantage of me, why don’t you?! « Altered Art & Stuff…

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo