Gothic Arch Shrine, or is it?

Nancy set us a 2-week challenge to create a shrine for our gothic arches… I started prepping a large cigar box and then changed my mind! That happens a lot, especially if I’m not really sure what I want to do…

So I took a deep frame and played around with that. I used paint, wax paper that had paint on it, more paint, layers of shimmering paint, dictionary words, gold spray paint (just for fun and experimentation!), and then I got out the 2 wooden seahorses and painted (again), the arch under the sea… and added woolly strands of seaweed, some netty waves, more paint and fish round the outside… oh and some glitter, in 3 shades of blue.

Top half…

See the back of the arch they are swimming past?

Shame about the flash, but it’s really pretty – promise!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Great maritime arch shrine, Rosie!
    It looks so fantastic.

    Reply
  2. Loved the sea horses on your shrine very pretty.
    Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Reply
  3. I like it, it’s different, and subtle – you can see the arch but only if you look properly 🙂

    Reply
  4. Rosie this is just fantastic! I love the wonderful colors, texture and sea horses. gorgeous shrine…so happy you could play!

    Reply
  5. Holiday is here, the snow effects is great.

    I must say that I am a fan of your art work. Need not say more, but your work is very beautiful. keep it up.

    Reply
  6. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo