Baking Muffins!

Gosh it’s turned cold here! Some parts of the UK have had 6-8″ of snow and schools were closed… but here in Cornwall, we have had clear blue skies, sunshine and none of that awful white stuff! However, I was so cold earlier on, despite having the heating on, that I resorted to warming up the kitchen – yes, and baking muffins! (I also cooked a chicken curry for tea!)

Art Creations Friday #54 gave us a delightful image to use and here’s my version:

That is a picture of the choc n nut muffins I baked today!! Nick was kind enough to show me how to get my pic into a ‘speech bubble’ and use it how I wanted to – sometimes he can be so kind!

If you want the muffin recipe, go HERE and just ‘tweak’ it with your own version… I added chocolate chips, chunks and some chopped mixed nuts. If you want my simple chicken curry recipe, read on:

Simple Chicken Curry

400-500g chicken thigh fillets (cut into bite-sized pieces)

2-3 tbsps vegetable oil

1 large onion chopped (although I used 6 pickling onions!)

2 fat cloves of garlic (crushed or chopped)

I stick of celery, sliced

I can chopped tomatoes (400g)

Hot water (half the tomato can, or to suit you)

2 good tbsps Pataks Mild Curry Paste (or similar)

Method:

  • Heat the oil in a large saucepan, and add the onions, garlic, celery and curry paste. Stir well so the flavour (and colour) of the paste is absorbed into the veg. Cook for a few  minutes till the onions soften.
  • Add the chicken thighs and stir well. Cook over low-medium heat till the chicken is sealed and not pink anymore.
  • Add the can of chopped tomatoes and the half can of water and bring to the boil.
  • Stir well and turn the heat down low. Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes till the chicken is cooked through.
  • Serve with fluffy basmati rice and/or naan breads or chapatis.

This makes a fab veggie curry too – just substitute chunky veg (carrots, parsnip, potatoes, chickpeas (1 can), etc.) for the chicken thighs and cook till the veg is soft but not overcooked.

I also add a handful of raisins to my curry (at the same time as the tomatoes) – I just like the contrast of sweet and savoury! You can also use chicken on the bone or any other meat – just adjust the cooking time.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. great fun!! love it!
    did you also bake the chocolate ones?? I really love them!!

    Reply
  2. Rosie, the art with the chocolate muffins is adorable, but since it is lunchtime and I’m hungry, I think the recipes are the great thing about this post!!!

    Reply
  3. Beautiful and I love muffins, thanks for the recipe!!

    Reply
  4. Super fun and creative!

    Reply
  5. What a beautiful card!!

    Reply
  6. You’re all welcome!! 😉

    Reply
  7. Hi Rosie!!!

    oh so cuteeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! I have all my baking supplies ready to go!! but I will wait till Monday to start!!!

    Reply
  8. Love your creation!

    Reply
  9. Great, sounds yummy!!!

    Reply
  10. so fun! great card and the muffins look so yummie *mmmm*

    Reply
  11. MMM food for the tummy, food for the soul. Thanks for the recipe, Rosie, and the art is first class too!

    Reply
  12. Hello Rosie,

    I love snow, and that’s what I always wait every Christmas and winter but the 6-8″ of snow is a bit uncool for me.

    Thanks for sharing your muffin recipe. I am gonna try baking to give out to my friends. Your chicken curry is a bit different from mine, but I might try it as well, or maybe combine my recipe with your recipe.

    Have a Merry Christmas everyone……

    -John

    Reply
  13. To cute & clever my friend…it make me want a yummy muffin! 🙂

    Reply
  14. Sandy

     /  December 19, 2009

    Hihi this is a great idea.
    Really lovely work. Gorgeous.

    Reply
  15. Very clever idea & so lovely, Rosie, now I feel hungry, curry & muffins to follow – yum!!

    Reply
  16. Great post. I gained some very valuable information from it. I’ve been trying out some new Asian recipes lately and am having a great time experimenting with them. Do you have a favorite cookbook? Visit my blog if you’d like to read more. Thanks again for this blog – it is really well-done.

    Reply
  17. barnie

     /  December 19, 2009

    Oh Rosie, just a funny idea, love it.

    Reply
  18. so imaginative and fun Rosie!!!

    Have a very Merry Christmas!
    oxo

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo