Red+orange…

Mixed Media Monday today and Beth invited us to make art using colours we don’t like very much! That’s such a challenge, isn’t it? I don’t use red and orange much, especially pinky-reds. I think they feel too ‘girly’ for this grunge-meister!!

So I altered another page in the Girls’ Annual… very personal, full of what I am calling “I-Flowers”. We have I-Tunes, I-Pods, etc., so why not I-Flowers?

So there you see … what you want to see really. I expect everyone who looks at this page will see something different. To explain what I saw whilst creating it is complicated, but here goes.

I want to start 2010 aware of all that I aspired to and indeed achieved, in 2009 (Past to Future); I’d like to think that I am leaving any wrong turnings behind me at the bottom of my “garden”; I’d like to think things will be different next year, with nothing hidden or neglected (that includes my family!); I’d like to believe I won’t stop being a free spirit, that I will make time to stop and smell the “roses” along the way and that laughter will lead me to a happier place.

That’s the basic idea behind the page. I used acrylic and watercolour washes, brush, sponge-brush and a palette knife to apply the paints. The roses are one of my handcarved foam stamps and the chequers represent a wall. The word life is also a foam stamp. I used words which stood out on one page of old text (and seemed appropriate) and outlined them with a charcoal pencil. Finally I used a black pen to add detailing and the bottom of a paintbrush and some silver paint for the finishing touch.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I like these pieces where there’s always more to see every time you look.
    Glad you liked the Italian mustard and my attempt at the language (don’t you just love google translator?!)
    I had a lot of fun with that one.
    A new year toast to you and being a free spirit – go girl!

    Reply
  2. Rosie, I do love the hand-cut rose stamp. It’s gorgeous. I hope to see it on your blog again and again. Now about the colors, well, I personally think they look great, especially together. Having said that, they don’t look like the usual Rosie. The gorgeous tree piece from yesterday, I think, is more like you. The vibrancy and excitement of it show your free spirit. Best wishes for some great days of crafting in 2010 and the good health and enough time to get done what you’d like to do.

    Reply
  3. mixedmediamonday

     /  December 28, 2009

    Rosie, I think you’ve done a fantastic job with colours you don’t enjoy much! This page is wonderful and very meaningful. I’m glad you stepped outside your comfort zone, because the end result is amazing! Diane

    Reply
  4. Sandy

     /  December 29, 2009

    Oh wow colorful colorful.
    Love the flowers. Amazing work Rosie.

    Reply
  5. Its gorgeous!!! Really love the reds and oranges.

    Reply
  6. This is beautiful Rosie and a great idea!

    Reply
  7. Rosie what a wonderful name I Flowers – I love it , and your page is wonderful, orange is my favorit color.

    Reply
  8. Love the roses Rosie!! It may not be your usual style but you did a great job.
    Happy New Year grunge-meister!
    Love
    Linda

    Reply
  9. This is stunning, Rosie ! Love the color and the design.

    Reply
  10. This is beautiful!!!

    Reply
  11. barnie

     /  December 30, 2009

    I-Flowers… 😀 Wonderful. Love the colours, fantastic work.

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo