Floral tributes…

I chose this theme as it’s pretty much all-encompassing and any type of media will be fine! I’m guest hosting again at Mixed Media Monday, which is just as well because if I hadn’t got this prepared, I’d be in the blogging doldrums. There just aren’t enough hours in the day for me currently – the college course is really taking its toll, but I have caught up a bit thanks to half-term, so I’m not in such a state of panic…

Shabby-Ruffled Flower pin!

I fell in love with ruffled flowers when I saw a couple of tutorials online. My flower-pins are very shabby and I use torn strips of thin/lightweight fabrics to achieve the scruffy ruffled effect. I then add beads, buttons or recycled jewellery parts to embellish them (read “tart them up”!!).

Here are a few more examples, which I am taking to the Family Arts & Crafts Day on June 19th. I shall be demonstrating how to make them and selling the kits!

Architectural design!

Netted and beaded!

Here, Kitty, Kitty!!

These are so easy to make, I finished my 6 different examples in one sitting. Fun and unique, you could really make one for every outfit or occasion, couldn’t you?!

See you again when I can… and I hope you enjoy the challenge this week! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I want to make some!!!!!!!!!
    These are so pretty and fun!
    thanks

    Reply
  2. landileroux

     /  June 7, 2010

    They are abolutely stunning. Thanks so much for being such an inspiration.

    Reply
  3. I want to get all dressed up and wear one! They look like such fun to make. They remind me of yo-yo quilt pieces. Beeyooteeful!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful work, Rosie. I always enjoy the stories that go with hand-crafted art because I love to know how the pieces are made. Fantastic.

    Reply
  5. Sandy

     /  June 7, 2010

    Fantastic shabby flowers Rosie.
    Love your great art.

    Reply
  6. Rosie this is a great challenge – thanks, you have made some really wonderful flowers, love the all.

    Reply
  7. Wow, Rosie–love the flowers! And the challenge!
    Thanks so much!
    HUGS,
    Cindy

    Reply
  8. Great flowers!!! love the colours of the bottom one

    Reply
  9. Hi Rosie…thank you for hosting this fun theme!!! your tribute to flowers is wonderful…I love these cool pieces you created!!!

    Reply
  10. Awesome flowers!!!!

    Reply
  11. I LOVE these pins! I especially like the ragged “tail” on the first one.

    Reply
  12. Beautiful flowers! I love how the choice of fabrics and components makes these all so unique and different. ~Sharon

    Reply
  13. They are all beautiful!

    Reply
  14. They are all stunning … I will have to give your ideas a try 🙂
    Inka

    Reply
  15. mixedmediamonday

     /  June 10, 2010

    Wow, Rosie, they are all amazing! Thanks for another fun theme this week! Diane

    Reply
  16. your flowers are so yummie! Thanks for the fun theme 🙂

    Reply
  1. Vintage ads/labels «

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo