“I have been wanting to…”

That’s the brief for Mixed Media Monday this week… and I have been wanting to finish off this piece, and more importantly, paint an abstract, for ages. As it incorporates both red and blue, I shall also make it my Sunday Stampers entry, though this time, Hels says we don’t actually need to incorporate any stamping – she didn’t!!

I started this wooden panel last summer and lost my way with it. Not sure I found it again, to be honest! I don’t know whether I like this, whether it’s done or how I actually feel about it… One thing’s for sure: It’s a vast improvement on the fairly bland/blank panel it was earlier. There was a little bit of collage on a dull green background, so this is far more colourful.

The texture was there before… but you can never have enough texture, right?

No message, just the Birdie!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. This is absolutely blooming gorgeous! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

    Reply
  2. Fab fab fab art hun, thanks for joinin in with the Sunday Stamper x

    Reply
  3. Oh wow, that’s fantastic texture allright 🙂 and such wonderful colours too!! Way to go girl!!

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Reply
  4. Rosie…I love the colors…so bold and lovely!

    Reply
  5. i love this.. very bold, full of movement.. and open to letting the imagination run off finding images..

    i see a red sports car in the corner…. and a shadowy cat watching that bird lol

    Reply
  6. Yvonne

     /  September 13, 2010

    WOW, Rosie, this is stunning!

    Reply
  7. I think you found your way back!! Just great!

    Reply
  8. johanna

     /  September 13, 2010

    you are so right: there can never be too much texture… i love this piece and the bold colors!

    Reply
  9. This is great Rosie…it is wall hanging worthy…good job.

    Reply
  10. dutchstamptramp

     /  September 13, 2010

    Very beautiful, love the texture and colours!

    Reply
  11. LOVE the birdie! Fantastic piece!

    Reply
  12. Beautiful burst of colors and depth! …love the birdie too… it is just so whimsical!
    Inka 🙂

    Reply
  13. Amazing texture & colour Rosie!

    Reply
  14. I agree about never having enough texture! Wish I could see it in person. Very fun and expressive.

    Reply
  15. mixedmediamonday

     /  September 18, 2010

    Rosie, what a stunning piece! Love it!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo