Widen my vision…

What a strange phrase. Or is it? Sometimes I think we can all be incredibly short-sighted/narrow-minded, don’t you? People round here think we’re strange and exotic because we are multi-lingual and multi-cultural. Yes, we’ve lived and worked abroad, and if it weren’t for Nick’s health issues, we’d be off on more adventures again when DD has finished her GCSEs…

As it is, we’ll probably move again next year – where exactly is undecided as yet – exciting, isn’t it? Apart from the packing, etc. I enjoy moving. I like getting to know a new area, looking for new opportunities to get more out of life. I admit that I can’t comprehend living all your life in the same village and never venturing beyond your own borders… makes me shudder, I’m afraid!!

"Widen my vision."

Created for Mixed Media Monday Art” theme this week – open theme for all of us!

I used Stewart Gill orange paint and blue acrylic over a coat of pale peach emulsion (which dried quicker than my gesso – even with a heat gun!), in my altered book. I added the the collage elements and then used a 9B graphite stick to outline the text and smudged it around liberally. Lastly came the purple through punchinella and the MaVinci latin text stamp. All the other stamps are by Ria Vaneman. All the paint was applied with a palette knife and a sponge!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. this is fab Rosie, love the central quote. sounds great moving around and going abroad, I must confess life has got in the way of me doing much travelling, I do love moving though and am doing so next year too! Hope it all goes well.

    Reply
  2. Great!!! love the vibrant colours, they work so well together.

    Reply
  3. So true everything is perception and thoughts,beliefs,attitudes are like habits…

    Reply
  4. Great piece of art!

    Reply
  5. Great collage, love your colour combination.

    Reply
  6. great piece!

    Reply
  7. Yvonne

     /  September 27, 2010

    Fabulous collage, Rosie!

    Reply
  8. Rosie – I love that you shared something of your personal philosophy. Reading it made the art all the more effective. A thoughtful and artistic piece! Kudos!

    Reply
  9. johanna

     /  September 27, 2010

    what a wonderful collage – and you have such a good hand for colors!!

    Reply
  10. A wonderful collage Rosie…great colors and balance very eye catching…great job.

    Reply
  11. Hi Rosie!!!! your collage looks fantastic!!! I love the pops of colour and the text…wonderful work as always!!!

    Reply
  12. Gorgeous piece Rosie, love the colors.

    Reply
  13. I love looking at your art – there’s always so many interesting parts to see and explore. Perhaps it’s all that travel you did in your past leading us to new places in your pieces! (does that make sense? Not sure… I’m rather tired…. long day….)

    Reply
  14. wooooooooooow – GORGEOUS art collage!!!so many different details to discover.

    Reply
  15. A fabulous artful collage- I just keep finding new things to see and enjoy!

    Reply
  16. Beautiful piece and message. Way to go! xo

    Reply
  17. Beautiful. The little circles look like a honeycomb to me 🙂

    Reply
  18. Ria Vaneman

     /  September 28, 2010

    Hi Rosie,
    I love this collage. The color combination is wonderful. You want to move next year? Why don’t you go live in Sweden…..near me, of course 🙂
    Ria

    Reply
  19. lottie

     /  September 28, 2010

    Another stupendous piece of art. Gorgeous colours. How wonderful to be able to get up and go and move anywhere. I have moved quite a number of times in my life too – well loads actually – non of them of my choice – but now an OAP we have settled in a little village in Norfolk and are quite content – but I do envy your ‘freedom’ and don’t for one minute think it strange – but wonderful and exiciting!

    I couldn’t help but laugh at the litte hamsters. Starkey is definitely on a mission – and looks determined that he will not stand still long enough to be altered or inked. Now Squish is taking to other option – staying up close to DD – she’s his Minder.

    Reply
  20. What an incredible background, and thank you for describing how you did it. Our poor Earth, bless her blue and alive with color like you have!

    Reply
  21. I love this. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  22. This is wonderful, Rosie – I love the colours, the texture, the words, everything!

    Reply
  23. I love lots of layers! Great color combo too.

    Esther

    Reply
  24. Hi again! Just wanted to thank you for the warm welcome to MMM! : )

    Esther

    Reply
  25. mixedmediamonday

     /  October 2, 2010

    Rosie – in a word? STUNNING! Diane

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo