I got the music in me!

I blame Hels (Sunday Stamper) for that!! Or in fact, her SO, who chose “Music” as the theme for this week. This ties in with Mixed Media Monday – Memories – chosen by Diane, because… well, here’s the journal page, followed by a longish post.

There is no "must" in art...

This is an old French Kitty Diary I bought my DD back in 2007. I love the pics in it so much I couldn’t throw it out and it’s fun to paint in every now and then (like today!). Hels got me humming “I got the music in me…” and I started by tearing up some sheet music. Tore some other random papers lying on my worktable, a few rounds, a bumble bee (for Diana!) and a silhouette I had stamped. I added the window part torn from a junk mail envelope to cover the date and the 2 faces.

I slapped on some of my thick, oily gesso and then had the happy idea of colouring that with paint mixed into it. Hence the blue and purple. My memories usually have purples and blues in them… is that odd? Being impatient (and having work this afternoon), I dried the gesso with my heat gun, warping the envie window! I held that in place later with the letter “O”!!

I used some Cherry Pie Artstamps (which always make me happy) and my Art Quote from MaVinci. Thereafter came doodles and song titles and Neos…

Now, I don’t know of any other hobby or passion that allows one to have so much fun and get so messy using all sorts of stuff – mixed media is MAGIC! I remember when I first got back into arts and crafts a mere 5 or 6 years ago, I tried so hard to be pretty and neat and so on. I couldn’t do it very well and that was so disappointing at the time. Then I gradually discovered grunge and mixed media and altered art, which was so much more my style. What’s more, I found that it was okay to translate that stuff onto fabric or wood, metal and plastic and it was okay – there were no rules anymore!

So, you can see why I love that quote so much, can’t you? However, I do apologise to anyone who’s met me wearing some of my artwork, received my card and then found me doodling and painting but not showing any of the things they liked in the first place! Don’t worry, I shall get around to all that stuff at the end of the (short) summer season, when I build my own website. In the meantime, I’m more about expressing than manufacturing!

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. FAB FAB FAB, I am willing to take the blame cos it is a gorgoeus page hun, thanks for joining in with the Sunday Stamper x

    Reply
  2. Yvonne

     /  August 8, 2010

    WOW, what a fabulous collage, Rosie!

    Reply
  3. I love it! I can’t believe you got something so involved and intricate, done so quickly!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful – movement, colour, layers – it has it all.

    Reply
  5. barnie

     /  August 9, 2010

    Wow, that rocks. Love the bright colours and Kandinsky’s quote is very true.

    Reply
  6. I love, love, love it Rosie!! What great colours and images! made me smile!
    xoxo

    Reply
  7. Great collage page!

    Reply
  8. johanna

     /  August 9, 2010

    i´m so with you!!! i love your page. and i´m also very happy diggin´ into paint and glue… nothing better than having the mess on your fingers! i think that is the point why i can´t get started with digital art… i would miss the dirt under my fingernails;) and that grunge style really is freeing!

    Reply
  9. Great page Rosie. You are so like me. I do so love all the grunge and getting sticky and layering and blending and layering and sticking and painting and…

    Reply
  10. I love the blue and purple, and I so enjoyed your comments of the journey of creation! Good work.

    Reply
  11. Rosie…this spread rocks…it all works together so well…love the bluey purple!

    Reply
  12. Rosie, I love your collage which is so beautifully designed with wonderful textures and bright colours!!!

    Reply
  13. Beautiful, Rosie, and I do love the text. I had some little girls over yesterday to do art with me. I had to keep reminding them that it was ok to “make a mistake” because sometimes those are wonderful happy accidents that add so much to a work.

    Reply
  14. Hi Rosie!!!! this is so full of life!!! I love it!!! you are on a roll these days and your passion shines through each piece!!! thank you for popping by and leaving the sweet comment!!!

    Reply
  15. Glenda-TwoCoolTexans

     /  August 9, 2010

    Wow, love your use of color and the collage is gorgeous.

    Reply
  16. Gorgeous arty page Rosie!

    Reply
  17. Oh this is GORGEOUS!!!!

    Reply
  18. DARLING! I wish I wasn’t such an “uptight” person… so I could do this journaling stuff… I just love it, you did a wonderful job!

    Reply
  19. Wow! I love this amazing collage!

    Reply
  20. mixedmediamonday

     /  August 13, 2010

    Another fabulous page, Rosie – and I love the idea of using that type of journal to paint in! Diane

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo