Three Muses – Moon

I have written that I have been taking Raw Art Journalling  – working through Quinn MacDonald’s book – and also Shwe Khit’s Sweetened Simplicity digital art course. Up till now, I haven’t really shown any of my coursework from Shwe’s site. If you’ve clicked on her button in my sidebar, you’ll know how talented an artist Shwe is – both in traditional and mixed media and also she’s a phenomenal digital artist. She taught me to create this…

I am so proud of  this painting! It makes me happy to think that I learnt to create this in a few weeks, using just a computer, Photoshop and a mouse… If I can do it, anyone can!

I never really understood the fascination of digital artwork to its fullest extent, nor did I appreciate the pleasure of being able to continually tweak a face, or a shadow, until you are satisfied that it’s “just right”! But now I do and I take my hat off to digital artists – *bows*.

So, this is my entry to The Three Muses challenge this week – Moon.

Now I’m away to continue creating a Merqueen who is lurking in a folder, patiently awaiting me and my mouse!! 😉

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Hey Rosie! Now you know why I love digital art so much! This is a beautiful first effort. Can’t wait to see what the future brings!

    Reply
  2. Well, Rosie, you did a fantastic job! I still haven’t spent any time getting to know my photoshop. Maybe that will be my New Year’s Resolution! In the meantime, I am in awe!

    Reply
  3. Well if this is your first creation we can expect some more fantastic work. This is just brilliant! Loud applause! xx

    Reply
  4. this is GORGEOUS!! so far i only used texture layers and such, but never made a collage so far. i´m afraid this will be the next step and i will do it between 2 and 3 o´clock in the night (when else??), haha. anyway, you give me hope…

    Reply
    • Well, I know… It’s far better to have a few hours without interruption, like 2-3am maybe!! Yeah, you were right though – it IS addictive! =)

      Reply
  5. Taluula

     /  September 28, 2011

    I am so pleased you got into digital art, Rosie, and that you are enjoying it so much, this is magnficent. You deserve a standing ovation for this one and I’m now off now to investigate Shwe Khit’s website.

    Reply
  6. Wow, you are one busy lady, Rosie ! I do love the effects of the digital artwork but I feel like I have little time to add a new focus to my arty life right now. I love what you have done here ! Loveliness by the pond…

    Reply
  7. Watch out before you become addicted Rosie !!
    🙂
    I’m soooooo proud of you and i take a deep bow !

    Reply
  8. Rosie, your composition is so wonderful! Bravo!

    Reply
  9. First of all, Rosie, thanks for the tribute to digital art. Those who are not familiar with it believe it is all accomplished with the click of a mouse but there’s a lot more to it as evidenced in your most beautiful piece. The painting of the girl is superb. You are so talented to have picked up these skills in a few short weeks. You are a legend in any form of art!!
    A heeeeeyuge standing ovation from me. (Hey, in spite of being encouraged to take up a tablet, my mouse is my brush!!)

    Reply
    • Thanks Marie!! I think she’s adorable too!! No, seriously, Shwe does discuss using a tablet… My BBF Barbara recommended one to me too. But I’d never have believed that I could produce this kind of work. It’s a real revelation!
      Thanks to you guys over at 3M and TAW, I am able to share this with a wider audience so maybe we’ll get a few more artists inspired and learning new skills! xoxoxo

      Reply
  10. Wow, you’ve learnt heaps with the course, Rosie, love the girl’s face so cute, stunning colourful piece!

    Reply
  11. Fascinating work! This says “storybook” to me. And you’re obviously learning quickly enough, you should be proud! It takes time to master PS and PSE. I’m learning all the time. Sometimes I feel like I can’t quite grasp what I’m going for, but then I’ll make a little breakthrough, and this is what keeps me so enthralled!
    I’ll look forward to seeing more new works from you in future!
    🙂
    Rose

    Reply
    • Thanks for the encouragement Rose! It’s like being a child again and having an excuse to make fairytale characters… I must have a secret hankering to be an illustrator! 😉

      Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo