Papering over the cracks…

Architecture is the theme at The Three Muses today, as suggested by my BGF Gayle Page-Robak. I have been so busy finishing projects for the Gallery, starting new ones and working, that I had lots of fun with this double spread in my Long Tall Skinny Journal.

The images are from old books – one about churches and another about everyday life in Rome… I ended up using a lot more layers of paint and gesso than I expected to, and I won’t tell you what I wrote, because one should never tell anyone else what to think or see.

Papering over the cracks...

Stamps are from Tandastamps (crackle) and MaVinci’s Reliquary. The flower/flourish is a miscellaneous foam stamp I acquired along the way…! Oh and the word ‘day’ is a Papermania foam stamp. The rounds are from DCS.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Sandy

     /  February 24, 2010

    OMG what an incredible piece.
    Stunning.

    Reply
  2. Absolutely gorgeous collage!

    Reply
  3. fabulous !!!!

    Reply
  4. You have such an imagination, Rosie, your pieces are artistic brilliance!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful! Love the crackle stamp.

    Reply
  6. Thats an awesome collage. I love the rough and honest style.

    Reply
  7. johanna

     /  February 24, 2010

    how much love and detail is put into this piece!! incredibly beautiful!

    Reply
  8. barnie

     /  February 24, 2010

    Rosie, how cool is this?! Such a wonderful collage, great details.

    Reply
  9. Oh, Rosie Rowe (I just love to say your whole name!), what a grand piece this is! You are fearless when it comes to paint and gesso and layers and … wonderfulness. Good for you! I love it.

    Reply
  10. Now, I love this-look at all those layers–beautiful!!

    Reply
  11. Love the tall skinny journal Rosie and your pages are lush with detail and color!

    Reply
  12. Ellen

     /  February 24, 2010

    gorgeous colours, such a pleasure to look at, love the crackle effect , the bricks, the mesh the way everything flows into each other just brilliant

    Reply
  13. Just fantastic. Superb collage, Rosemary.

    Reply
  14. I’m speechless Rosie (yep…Again !!)
    So many details…such a imagination
    Gosh..you are so clever !!

    Reply
  15. Hi Rosie!! Just love this collage, especially the cracks!! I really love your style!! Thank you for coming by, always great to see you. x0x

    Reply
  16. What an incredible feast for the eyes! Rosie, your collage is magnificent. I love the rich colour and the stunning details. You are a true artist. Superb artwork.

    Reply
  17. What a stunning piece, fantastic!!

    Reply
  18. Great layout, and love the crackling effect in this.

    Reply
  19. Love it ,,,,,really I need some time to watch all the card,,,,,,so i love it,,,,it is at time so simple and delicated,,,,,,,,,,,thanks for sharing,,,, and all voer for your comment in my work let ke know if you like a free copy of my Magic Alice,,,,,,,,

    Reply
  20. I love these pages, and also the long, tall, skinny format! And all those luscious layers of sunny paint and weathered glazes! Wonderful, Rosie!

    Reply

Your views are very welcome, so please feel free to share! xo